ISANCO Joins Multi-Party Group As Delegates to National Convention Announced

Aug 13, 2023 | Press Releases

Joint Press Statement by the DA, IFP, FF Plus, ActionSA, ISANCO, UIM and SNP

The political parties involved in negotiating a pre-election agreement to inaugurate a new government following next year’s election are pleased to announce that the Independent South African National Civic Organisation (ISANCO) is the latest political party to join this process. Alongside the DA, IFP, FF Plus, ActionSA, UIM and SNP, ISANCO becomes the seventh political party that will attend the upcoming National Convention on 16 and 17 August 2023 in Kempton Park, Gauteng.

ISANCO broke away from the ANC-aligned South African National Civic Organisation (SANCO) in 2021 over the failure to address corruption within the ruling alliance. In the 2021 local government elections, the newly-formed party won 14 council seats in areas previously dominated by the ANC.

The addition of ISANCO to the National Convention signifies that South Africans from all backgrounds, including those who had previously supported the ANC, are now looking for a credible alternative government that can move our country forward again. It also demonstrates our group’s ongoing efforts to bring on board like-minded parties who share our core values and desire to provide a real alternative to decades of ANC misrule.

We are further pleased to announce the names of the delegates from each party who will attend the National Convention under the guidance of independent chairperson Professor William Gumede and his capable team. The following men and women, drawn from all corners of South African society, will gather next week at the same venue where the historic CODESA negotiations took place, to engage and find a new way forward for our country:

1. Prof William Gumede, Independent Chairperson
2. Ms Nerine Kahn, Independent Advisor
3. Ms Linda Vilakazi, Independent Advisor
4. Mr Olmo von Meijenfeldt, Independent Advisor
5. Ms Hawa Khan, Independent Advisor
6. Mr John Steenhuisen MP, DA Federal Leader
7. Ms Siviwe Gwarube MP, DA Chief Whip
8. Dr Leon Schreiber MP, Advisor to the DA Federal Leader
9. Mr VF Hlabisa MP, IFP President
10. iNkosi EM Buthelezi MP, IFP Deputy President
11. Mr SL Ngcobo MP, IFP Secretary-General
12. Dr PJ Groenewald MP, FF Plus Leader
13. Dr CP Mulder MP, FF Plus Chief Whip
14. Mr W Wessels MP, FF Plus Whip
15. Mr Herman Mashaba, ActionSA President
16. Mr Michael Beaumont, ActionSA Chairperson
17. Mr Athol Trollip, ActionSA Eastern Cape Provincial Chairperson
18. Dr Zukile Luyenge, ISANCO President
19. Mr Sonwabile Ndabambi, ISANCO Secretary General
20. Ms Tobeka Patience Falteni, ISANCO Acting Treasurer
21. Mr Neil de Beer, UIM President
22. Ms Fatima Abdool, UIM Vice President
23. Mr Jacques Taljaard, UIM Secretary General
24. Mr Christopher Claassen, SNP President
25. Mr Rea Moeketsi, SNP Deputy President
26. Mr Charles Venter, SNP Deputy President

Media enquiries:
DA: Charity McCord, Media Officer to the DA Federal Leader 078 126 2765
IFP: Megan Dick, Office of the IFP President 082 432 1335
FF Plus: Pieter Swart, Media Officer for the FF Plus 065 801 7216
ActionSA: Sam Mgobozi, Communications Director for ActionSA 082 968 4021
ISANCO: Nceba Matomane, Media Officer for ISANCO 0614726507
UIM: Virginia Young, Media Liaison for UIM 064 283 6781
SNP: Winston Coetzee, Chief Whip for the SNP 082 228 3523
Prof Gumede: Zamayirha Peter 079 692 7931

Recent Headlines

IFP Press Conference to Provide an Update on the Government of National Unity

IFP President and NEC to Brief Media on GNU

The IFP NEC will meet today in light of the widespread uncertainty prevailing as it pertains to the Government of National Unity (GNU). The IFP President Hon. Velenkosini Hlabisa, MP, will thereafter at a press conference provide an update on these matters today. The...

IFPYB Welcomes Changes in the Department of Higher Education

GNU: IFP’s Position on Interpretation of Clause 24

The IFP has taken note of the on-going public disagreements between the ANC’s Mr Fikile Mbalula and the DA’s Mrs Helen Zille, as it pertains to clause 24 of the Government of National Unity (GNU) statement of intent. To that end, the IFP President Hon. Velenkosini...

IFP Secures 7 Wards in KZN By-Elections

IFP Secures 7 Wards in KZN By-Elections

The Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP) in KwaZulu-Natal is overwhelmed with gratitude to the people of the province, following its resounding victory in yesterday’s by-elections, where the Party secured 7 out of 12 contested wards. The IFP has gained a majority in several...